Lotus Mandala Video Tutorial

dscn7872

My free Lotus Mandala Vest pattern was getting some attention on Facebook recently and so for convenience I put together a little FAQ page for that pattern a few days ago to try to answer some of the most common questions. One of them is “Is there a video tutorial available?” Well, now there is!

A very great big THANK YOU to fellow blogger Cynthialoowho, who volunteered to create a video tutorial for this pattern! It is now available on her Youtube channel here. I am really excited about this new video option because I know a lot of crocheters work exclusively from patterns and tutorials that are heavy on visuals or exclusively visual.

dscn7870

For the written pattern crocheters, I’m working on making this pattern available for download as a PDF file so it can be viewed offline or printed out. Since I was planning on cleaning up the written instructions anyway, I started another Lotus Vest using Lion Brand Shawl in a Ball, and oh my goooodnessss!

dscn7873

The colors are way too pretty! This colorway is “Calming Desert”. And did you know they have Shawl in a Ball Metallics now? Moonstone is my favorite. Agh, I feel a large yarn purchase coming on.

I’m also cleaning up and formatting the Lotus Duster pattern for PDF availability, which I had been working on before the Lotus Vest went briefly viral.

dscn7876

BUT WAIT THERE’S MORE! I’m also working (slowly) on finishing up a brand new mandala-based crochet pattern. Basically my desk is just one big heap of colorful yarn mandalas right now. Which makes me happy 🙂

-MF

6 thoughts on “Lotus Mandala Video Tutorial

  1. Couldnґt be written any kind of far better. Reading this post reminds me of my old room mate! He always kept talking about this. I can forward that article to him. Extremely sure he definitely will possess a excellent read. Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  2. I’m impressed, I have to admit. Genuinely rarely will i encounter a blog that’s both educative and entertaining, and let me tell you, you’ve hit the nail to the head. Your notion is outstanding; the problem is something which not enough persons are speaking intelligently about. I’m happy i came across this in my search for some thing about it.

    Like

  3. Hi. My name is Barbara. Am in process of starting your Stevie vest, for me and as long as that works out, hope to make one for my daughter. If you dont mind i will probably have many questions. I have finished the mandala, now on to armholes. My measurements between shoulder blades come in at 7 – 10″. Ouch. Yours are at 13″. (Later on, being my daughter is a tall girl w/broad shoulders) , it petrifies me, in that the yarn in use won’t be cooperative for ripping out. Would you mind sharing your height. I stand 5’4″. You said Stevie is patterned out in “small”. Will that be appropriate for me? I am small/mediumnin stature. Truly welcome your response. Thank you, and by the way your patterns blow all the other ones out if the water.

    Like

    • Thank you so much for the wonderful compliment Barbara! And yes, please do feel free to ask any questions you may have as you go. To answer your question, I am about 5’6″. The measurement of 13″ is the full width of my back, from the edge of one shoulderblade to the opposite edge of the other shoulderblade, measured just below my actual shoulders, but without measuring curving inward toward the pits at all. I would say that if your measurement, making sure to measure in the same space that I just described, is 7-10″, you will probably have to move the armholes inward toward each other a little. I would also recommend that you skip a few rounds in the diamond mesh section of Rounds 27-30, this will help adjust it to your height so it’s not too long.

      Out of curiosity, what yarn are you using for these?

      Like

Leave a Reply

