Bernie Beanies, etc…

Right, so, this is the type of post where I picture-dump some of the projects I have been working on lately but haven’t had time to talk about individually. I’ve been creakily trying to finish up some of the colder-weather projects that had remained in limbo before I switch gears and everything turns all bright and cotton and mandala-y!

So here’s the third Bohemian Fringe Poncho, worked with an alternative yarn to Bernat Roving, to great success…

This one, like the other two ponchos I made while designing the pattern, are for sale in my Etsy shop!

Next up is a rare thing on this blog… a finished knitting project. I love knitting, but I am woefully neglectful of my knitting projects since I am always so busy with crochet / spinning / dyeing. But since this one was a commission, I was obliged to finish it in a timely manner.

I was stoked on this project when it was requested, because I support Bernie for President, because I am pretty obviously a liberal hippie feminist pinko commie who hates The Man. TRAMPLE THE PATRIARCHY.

Whew, okay. I also made this blanket over Winter Break.

My notes can be found on the Ravelry project page for this! I used 8 different colorways of variegated yarn, 15 skeins total. It was mega fun.

The weather here was great today, continuing the tradition of a mid-January Indiana warm-up to really mess with our sunshine-starved heads before it dumps more snow out of the sky. I took advantage of the mild temps to do a photoshoot for my upcoming pattern.

Which is going to rule.

But you’ll just have to wait and see.

-MF

2 thoughts on “Bernie Beanies, etc…

  1. I love all of your designs. They’re all my type of clothings since I grew up in the 60’s. i have followed you for only about a year now but besides your designs, you look just like my sister and I when we were your age. We couldn’t believe it. Seeing you in all of the deisgns that are like what we wear/wore is really a blast from the past for us.
    Keep enjoying your life. I have been desigining and crocheting for 61 years now. I’m disabled now so I only do it for gifts, fun and charity. It keeps me going and it keeps me happy.
    Your talent is endless. Thanks for all that you do for the rest of us!
    Cat

    Like

    • Thank you so much for your kind words! My parents, who grew up in the 60’s and 70’s, would always tell me that I was born in the wrong era, lol. My older sister nicknamed me the “little bohemian” when I was a kid because I have always been, as she put it, a flower child.
      It means so much to me that someone with your experience appreciates my designs. The fiber art community is so sweet and awesome, connecting with others who share my love for it has by far been the most rewarding thing about doing this πŸ™‚

      Like

Leave a Reply

