Summer’s Over, Kids

BWlogo

This whole blogging business has really been delightful so far. My little experiment quickly turned into a main project, one that has taught me a lot and hopefully helped other people out a bit, too.

What I’ve been quiet about for the last few months, though, is my ongoing secret mission: to return to college on a new path. I’ve been working since the beginning of May to re-enroll at Indiana University as an Art Education major, so that I can teach art to kids one day. As of one week from now I’m going back to school.

The point of this little aside is not to “close” my blog, but to end the chapter that contained my full attention to it (for now!) Morale Fiber Blog is still here and still active, but I doubt you will see a whole lot in the way of patterns and tutorials for a while. I don’t make any money off of this site (I prefer to run a site that is as ad-free as possible – ads annoy me) but I do make money from selling patterns and projects in my Etsy store, which I will continue to run.

In short, the continuation of this blog will probably see more pictures and rambling, and fewer detailed patterns and tutorials until the school year is over – I’m not saying there won’t beΒ any though! Here’s some of my favorite things I’ve put out into the world since January.

MandalaThrow

“Lotus” Crochet Mandala Throw – I hope to make another one of these soon…

Crochet Market Bag 2

Simple Stylish Market Bag – Won top 5 on Moogly’s HOHD!

Recycle Sweater Seam End Collage

Everything You Need to Know to Start Recycling Sweater Yarn – I spent untold hours putting together this super-comprehensive tutorial on reclaiming yarn from thrift store sweaters!

Plant Hanger 1

T-Shirt yarn plant hangers! I gave this one to my mom for Mother’s Day πŸ™‚

Crochet Mandala Tunic 6

Mandala tops! They eventually resulted in a comprehensive multi-size crochet pattern which you can purchase in my Etsy shop.

Bindu Cover

Bindu Crochet BikiniΒ – also picked for top 5 in Moogy’s HOHD link party!

Tunisian Pixie Hood 2

The Tunisian Crochet Fantasy Hood – This free pattern has been getting a lot of hits lately, hopefully people are liking it!

Oh, and if you all need more MF in your life, I have opened up an Instagram account so I can take snapshots of whatever art and craft stuff I want to share during my collegiate career.

-MF

6 thoughts on “Summer’s Over, Kids

  1. Best of luck in your college career….have no idea how old you are, but it seems like adults are far more intent and work harder than those fresh out of high school. At least that was case when I went back a few years ago. I was 51 when I graduated! and LOVED it!
    I think adults are more intent and more able to grasp what they are learning.

    Good luck! and Good for you!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you so much! Yes, as an adult I feel a lot more focused and definitely more prepared to deal with getting my degree than when I tried the first time seven years ago. I definitely think high school graduates should be encouraged to wait a few years before going to college!

      Like

  2. Congratulations Reggie!!!!
    I am pleased you are following your dream. I must admit I am going to miss the full on regularityof your posts. However, I will hit IG and quite happily await your ramblings.
    Once again, big congrats and a hearty hug to you. You go gal!!
    From Rusty here in Oz

    Like

Leave a Reply

